Everything You Need

The London Screenwriters’ Festival is taking place over the weekend of 28th – 30th October. As I’m so poor church mice throw loose change at me, I entered their Four Nights in August screenwriting contest in an attempt to snag a ticket to the event because – well – it’s an awesome place to go.

Bizarrely and brilliantly, my entry ‘Everything You Need’ (jointly) won. Aside from my Blue Peter badge, I’ve never won anything in my life. I can only hope the prize money comes on a big novelty cheque to make everything complete.

I very nearly didn’t enter. I didn’t hear about the contest until the day before the deadline. The idea for the script had popped into my head fully formed, but I didn’t have any time to sit down and write it. So I went to bed thinking “Oh well, I’ll go to the festival next year”.

But I couldn’t stop thinking about the story. After staring at my ceiling for an age, I left the Better Half sleeping and crept out of the bedroom. I typed the script out, a stream of consciousness in the streetlight glow of a midnight suburbia, hit ‘send’ and finally managed to sleep.

But this isn’t the end of the story of ‘Everything You Need’. No, siree.

Now the One Minute Movie Competition starts.

Shoot my script and win stuff.

The judges include Paul Greengrass and Russell Mulcahy.

Yes. You read that right. Paul Greengrass and Russell Mulcahy. The directors of the Bourne sequels and ‘Highlander’.

BLOODY HIGHLANDER.

(I make no secret of the fact that I regard ‘Highlander’ as one of the landmarks of modern cinema).

So, what are you waiting for?

Here’s a copy of my script to download:

Everything You Need

I can’t wait to see what you incredibly talented lot come up with.

12 Comments

  1. I am no good at this sort of thing, but good luck, so hope one of your fans does it justice for you 🙂

  2. Well done that man.

  3. Congratulations on the win! I’ve read both scripts and your script interests me more and I consider it more visually interesting for me. So if everything goes according to plan I will have a go at making your script into a film.

    Now to find a lovely elderly lady who can act…

  4. I can picture the old lady completely. Good luck

  5. Wow, Dave! That is absolutely beautiful. I can see it in my head! Wish I knew a cast & crew.

  6. This is wonderfully powerful for such a short piece. It’ll be great to see it filmed. Congratulations on the win – what an achievement!

  7. We’ll be shooting your script in Edinburgh on Tuesday, Dave. It’s a really nice, touching little affair.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

